Top Ad
I DIG Radio
Listen live to the best music from around the world!
I DIG Style
Learn about the latest fashion styles and more...

Sedin twins, Luongo among Hockey HOF inductees

Written by 
Published in Hockey
Monday, 27 June 2022 14:14

The Hockey Hall of Fame welcomed forwards Henrik and Daniel Sedin, forward Daniel Alfredsson and goaltender Roberto Luongo into its 2022 induction class, the Hall announced on Monday.

Also included in the class were Finnish women's hockey icon Hanna-Riikka Sallinen and Herb Carnagie in the builders' category, a Canadian of Jamaican descent who starred outside of the NHL. He's honored posthumously, having passed away in March 2012.

The Sedins and Luongo were teammates on the Vancouver Canucks and were in their first year of eligibility.

Henrik Sedin, a center, had 1,070 points and won the 2009-10 Hart Trophy as League MVP -- winning the award in a season when his twin brother Daniel was limited to 63 games due to injury. Henrik was third in scoring among centers during his 17-year NHL career, behind only Joe Thornton and Sidney Crosby.

Like his brother Henrik, Daniel Sedin had a career points-per-game average of 0.80. The winger had 1,041 points in 1,306 games. He was the goal-scorer in this remarkable tandem, although his 393 goals ranked him only fourth among left wings during his career. Daniel won the NHL scoring title in 2010-11 with 104 points and captured the Pearson Award as the NHLPA player of the year. He was second in the MVP voting to Anaheim Ducks winger Corey Perry that season.

The Sedins' Hall of Fame selection is less about individual accomplishments than it is about the magic they made as linemates for Vancouver. Drafted second (Daniel) and third (Henrik) overall in 1999 by Vancouver, the duo often appeared to have an inherent awareness of where the other was on the ice at all times. "Cycle like the Sedins" became synonymous with the way they would control the puck in the offensive zone.

Luongo played 1,044 games played, second all-time. He amassed 489 wins, good for fourth all-time, having played on significantly less successful teams than Martin Brodeur (691), Patrick Roy (551) and Marc-Andre Fleury (520) ahead of him. Luongo also had a .919 career save percentage and 77 shutouts, both ninth best all-time. He backstopped Canada to Olympic gold in 2010 and was a member of two IIHF world championship teams. The only thing he doesn't have is a Vezina Trophy for NHL's top goalie, having been a finalist three times.

While the Sedins played their entire career with the Canucks, Luongo was drafted by the New York Islanders, played 572 games with the Florida Panthers and 448 with Vancouver.

Alfredsson has been eligible since 2017. The winger played 1,178 games with the Ottawa Senators and 68 games in his final year with the Detroit Red Wings. His 444 goals are 64th all-time and his 1,157 points are 55th. He won the Calder Trophy in 1995-96 and won Olympic gold along with the Sedins in 2006, plus a silver in 2014. But he never won another individual award or the Stanley Cup.

Carnegie was a legendary player outside the NHL. Hall of Famer Jean Beliveau of the Montreal Canadiens famously called him one of the best skaters he ever played with, while both were with the semi-pro Quebec Aces. Herb Carnegie, his brother Ozzie and Manny McIntyre formed the first all-Black line in hockey, creating a sensation in Canada. He later created the Future ACES Hockey School, the first registered hockey school in Canada to teach hockey skills while emphasizing character development.

The biggest surprise in the class Hanna-Riikka Sallinen. The Finnish center is considered one of the greatest European players in women's hockey history. Sallinen played a total of 11 seasons in the Naisten SM-sarja, the elite league in Finland, and was a five-time champion.

She won Olympic bronze with Finland in 1998 and 2019. In the PyeongChang, South Korea Games, her final Olympics, she became the oldest player of any gender to win a medal in ice hockey at the Olympics, passing fellow Finn Teemu Selanne.

Among the notable snubs for the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022 were winger Alexander Mogilny, eligible since 2009; Jennifer Botterill, Team Canada forward, eligible since 2014; defenseman Sergei Gonchar, eligible since 2018; Caroline Ouellette, Team Canada forward, who was eligible for the first time; and Meghan Duggan, Team USA forward, who was also first-year eligible.

Although its rules state that it can, the Hall of Fame has only inducted two women's players in the same class once since 2010.

Read 25 times


Ancelotti: 'Big doubt' over WC impact on players

Ancelotti: 'Big doubt' over WC impact on players

Real Madrid manager Carlo Ancelotti has said his "big doubt" this year is over the impact of the mid...

LaLiga 2022-23 preview: Will Barcelona topple Real Madrid? What to watch for ahead of new season

LaLiga 2022-23 preview: Will Barcelona topple Real Madrid? What to watch for ahead of new season

Football fans around the world will tune in as LaLiga returns to action (stream matches, highlights...

Conte: Lukaku needed Inter move to be a 'king'

Conte: Lukaku needed Inter move to be a 'king'

Tottenham Hotspur manager Antonio Conte believes Romelu Lukaku needed to return to Inter Milan to fe...


USA Basketball sets roster for WC qualifying

USA Basketball sets roster for WC qualifying

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- USA Basketball has picked its 12-man roster for the opening second-round...

NBA to retire Russell's No. 6 for all 30 teams

NBA to retire Russell's No. 6 for all 30 teams

The NBA will honor the legacy of Boston Celtics legend Bill Russell by retiring his No. 6 jersey for...


Red Sox OF Hernandez expected back next week

Red Sox OF Hernandez expected back next week

BOSTON -- The injury-riddled Red Sox are getting close to one of their key contributors making a ret...

Kopech K's 11, no-hits through 6 in White Sox win

Kopech K's 11, no-hits through 6 in White Sox win

CHICAGO -- White Sox right-hander Michael Kopech was pulled after throwing six no-hit innings in a 2...

Sports Leagues

  • FIFA

    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
  • NBA

    National Basketball Association
  • ATP

    Association of Tennis Professionals
  • MLB

    Major League Baseball
  • ITTF

    International Table Tennis Federation
  • NFL

    Nactional Football Leagues
  • FISB

    Federation Internationale de Speedball

About Us

I Dig® is a leading global brand that makes it more enjoyable to surf the internet, conduct transactions and access, share, and create information.  Today I Dig® attracts millions of users every month.


Phone: (800) 737. 6040
Fax: (800) 825 5558
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.