Top Ad
I DIG Radio
Listen live to the best music from around the world!
I DIG Style
Learn about the latest fashion styles and more...

Brett, Carew, among holdovers on Hall committee

Written by 
Published in Baseball
Monday, 02 December 2019 12:11

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. -- Hall of Famers George Brett, Rod Carew and Dennis Eckersley are among seven holdovers on the Hall of Fame's 16-man modern era committee, which meets Sunday to consider nine players plus former union head Marvin Miller for election.

Former Kansas City Royals owner David Glass, former New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson and former Elias Sports Bureau executive Steve Hirdt also are holdovers from the committee that elected Jack Morris and Alan Trammell two years ago.

Newcomers announced Monday include Hall of Famers Eddie Murray and Ozzie Smith; former Boston president of baseball operations Dave Dombrowski; former general managers Walt Jocketty, Doug Melvin and Terry Ryan; and media members Bill Center, Jack O'Connell and Tracy Ringolsby.

This year's ballot includes newly added Dwight Evans, Thurman Munson and Lou Whitaker along with holdovers Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker and Ted Simmons.

The modern era committee considers candidates from 1970 to '87, and a candidate needs at least 75% of the vote to be elected. Anyone picked will be inducted to the Hall on July 26 along with candidates elected by the Baseball Writers' Association of America in a vote announced Jan. 21. Former New York Yankees captain Derek Jeter will be on the BBWAA ballot for the first time.

Miller is on a Hall of Fame ballot for the eighth time.

Simmons fell one vote short two years ago, when Morris received 14 and Trammell 13. Miller received seven votes, while Garvey, John, Mattingly, Murphy, Parker and Luis Tiant received fewer than seven.

Miller received 44% of the votes in 2003 and 63% in 2007 when all Hall of Famers could vote on a veterans panel. After the Hall downsized the veterans committees, he received 3 of 12 votes in 2007, 7 of 12 in 2009, 11 of 16 in 2010 and six votes or fewer in 2013.

Miller asked after the 2007 vote that he not be on future ballots. He died in 2012 at 95.

Munson received his highest voting percentage, 15.5%, in the first of his 15 appearances on a BBWAA ballot. That was in 1981, two years after he died in a plane crash. Evans peaked at 10.4% in 1998, the second of his three appearances. Whitaker appeared on the ballot in 2001 and received 2.9% -- below the 5% needed to stay on the ballot.

The Hall has four committees. The golden days (1950-69) and early baseball (before 1950) committees meet in December 2020 and the today's game (1988 to present) committee meets in December 2021.

Read 6 times

Leave a comment


Power Rankings: Flamengo stay top but Juventus drop five spots

Power Rankings: Flamengo stay top but Juventus drop five spots

Flamengo won the Copa Libertadores and Brazilian league title last week, but Juventus fall in Shaka...

Sources: Madrid's Hazard to miss El Clasico

Sources: Madrid's Hazard to miss El Clasico

Real Madrid's Eden Hazard will miss El Clasico after medical tests revealed he has a fracture in his...

Inter, Roma condemn 'Black Friday' front page

Inter, Roma condemn 'Black Friday' front page

Inter Milan and Roma have condemned Thursday's front page of Italian newspaper Il Corriere dello Spo...


Woman drops sex assault suit vs. Kings' Walton

Woman drops sex assault suit vs. Kings' Walton

Kelli Tennant, who alleged that Sacramento Kings head coach Luke Walton sexually assaulted her in 20...

Giannis resists urge to fight Pistons in blowout win

Giannis resists urge to fight Pistons in blowout win

DETROIT -- Giannis Antetokounmpo was ready to go toe to toe with Blake Griffin during a second-quart...


Astros trade OF Marinsick to Mets for 2 prospects

Astros trade OF Marinsick to Mets for 2 prospects

The Houston Astros have traded outfielder Jake Marisnick to the New York Mets in exchange for two pr...

Sources: Brewers fill need at C, acquire Narvaez

Sources: Brewers fill need at C, acquire Narvaez

The Milwaukee Brewers have agreed to a trade with the Seattle Mariners to acquire catcher Omar Narva...

Sports Leagues

  • FIFA

    Fédération Internationale de Football Association
  • NBA

    National Basketball Association
  • ATP

    Association of Tennis Professionals
  • MLB

    Major League Baseball
  • ITTF

    International Table Tennis Federation

Sponsored Links

I DIG® Newspapers
I Dig® Newspapers, stay up to date with the latest news from around the world.
I DIG® Casino
I Dig® Casino, explore our online casino games, play a wide range of free slots and casino games at our online casino today.
I DIG® Radio
I Dig® Radio HD is the only place in the internet where you can find free, super high bit rate internet radio stations from around the world. On I Dig® Radio HD you can find free radio stations streaming at 256kbps.

About Us

I Dig® is a leading global brand that makes it more enjoyable to surf the internet, conduct transactions and access, share, and create information.  Today I Dig® attracts millions of users every month.


Phone: (800) 737. 6040
Fax: (209) 825 5558
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.